Recently many states of the U.S. have approved the law that legalizes the use of marijuana and cannabis. New Hampshire also has legalized the use. Thus, people who want to buy, use or sell cannabis and marijuana must apply for a New Hampshire cannabis and marijuana license.
In New Hampshire, you will not appear in jail or have to pay a fine if you have marijuana with you for the first time. The marijuana must be only for personal use and up to one ounce.
People who have marijuana without any license may be fined. A person who has no more than 21 grams of cannabis or products made of it may be required to pay $100 if it is their first or second offense. During the third or more offenses, the amount may rise to $300.
The use of medical cannabis and marijuana is legal in New Hampshire since 2017. However, recreational use is still illegal, but it is decriminalized.
In New Hampshire, only the use of medical cannabis is legal. Thus, people who want to open a dispensary or somehow work with cannabis for medical purposes should get a New Hampshire cannabis and marijuana license.
There are different types of cannabis and marijuana licenses in New Hampshire based on the type of work you do.
The New Hampshire Cannabis and Marijuana Cultivator license enables individuals to grow and later sell cannabis. You must have a special territory where you can grow the weed. Then, you must fill in the application form and meet all the requirements of the state. That is, you must be at least 21 years old, have a business license registration and submit your fingerprints. You will also need to show proof of identity.
In general, you cannot make any products out of cannabis. For doing so, you will need to apply for a different license type.
If you want to grow cannabis and sell them to dispensaries, you must apply and get a Productors License. The Cannabis and Marijuana Productors License will enable you to grow and sell cannabis. It also allows making products out of it.
To apply for the license, you must:
An individual, who wants to use cannabis for medical purposes, grow and sell them, can apply for a New Hampshire Cannabis and Marijuana License. If you want to open a dispensary in New Hampshire, you must, thus, apply for a Dispensary License.
The license is available for New Hampshire residents who are at least 21 years old, have their ID or Driver’s License, and submit their fingerprints. If you open a Dispensary with another person, he/she also should submit the fingerprints.
In New Hampshire, the products made of cannabis should pass special testing. That is why many testing labs are now open in New Hampshire. The listing lab owners also need a state license. They should meet the below-mentioned criteria to get a testing lab license in NH:
As we have already mentioned, the use of medical cannabis and marijuana is legal in New Hampshire. Patients, who have an official document proving they need marijuana and cannabis, can buy or get up to 2 ounces of medical marijuana.
You may now get confused about the difference between marijuana and cannabis. To clarify, marijuana is any part of the Cannabis plant that is used separately. That may be seeds, resin, leaves, products made of cannabis plants, etc.
The medical use of cannabis does not mean that patients can grow them at home unless they have special permission. The permission is generally based on Senate Bill 420.
In New Hampshire, there are mainly 5 dispensaries. The owners of dispensaries are separate business entities:
New Hampshire residents can only buy cannabis and marijuana products from the above-mentioned dispensaries. You should take into account that you can only buy marijuana from the dispensary you are registered with.
People, who have passed a medical check and got a permit, can be eligible for medical use of cannabis and marijuana. Generally, they are patients that have illnesses causing severe pain. Thus, they get a medical card signed by a physician and are allowed to use cannabis and marijuana for some time. Patients, who are at least 18 years old, can get a medical card. Generally, people with the below-mentioned conditions can get a medical card:
Other illnesses that qualify for a medical card include:
After you have passed a medical check, you can apply for a medical card in New Hampshire. You will need to complete the following steps:
Finally, your medical card will be valid for a year. After the card date expires, you must either renew it or request to close it. All these processes are supervised by the Health and Human Services Department of New Hampshire. It is within the frames of Therapeutic Cannabis Programs that patients get medical cards.
Though the use of cannabis and marijuana is decriminalized in New Hampshire, people cannot buy, sell or consume marijuana. At least, the law has not been approved yet. New Hampshire only allows the use of medical cannabis and marijuana.
However, the residents who want to get marijuana can go to Massachusetts. The state law does not ban the use of cannabis and marijuana. But if the residents want to bring the weed with them, they will have to pay a penalty.
You cannot as well cultivate cannabis at home. New Hampshire law bans the home cultivation of any weed.
People in New Hampshire cannot use marijuana in public places. In addition, patients who have got medical cannabis can use them either at home or at the medical institution. Any patient that will use weed out of their territory may have to pay a fine of up to $100.
Driving under the influence of marijuana is strictly banned in New Hampshire. It concerns medical card users, as well. Someone, who was driving a car and the police thinks he/she used weed, must pass a special test. It will show if the person has used marijuana or alcohol recently.
No. Patients with anxiety cannot get a medical card in New Hampshire.