If you want to become a licensed insurance agent in the state of New Hampshire, you might need some help on the way.
We know that licensing regulations can be overwhelming and have outlined the steps necessary to obtain and maintain your New Hampshire insurance license.
Every licensing process starts with obtaining professional education. According to the New Hampshire law, there is no need to get particular hours of pre-license education.
The state gives permission to prepare for the exam in the most suitable way for you. Thus, it is up to you to take responsibility for the learning process and manage your schedule.
In some cases, some students find it exciting to study on their own and plan everything by themselves. Moreover, this way they get to concentrate on the aspects of insurance they find most challenging.
While there is option to do everything by yourself, you can also consider taking appropriate courses from a state approved provider. If you are a fan of group engagement and want direct contact with industry professionals, pre-license education might be the right choice for you.
As soon as you finish your studies, you should register and take the state licensing exam. It will determine your knowledge of insurance products, as well as industry standards.
Go through this link, login to your account and schedule an exam. If you do not have an account, create one following the mentioned steps and complete registration.
Arrive at the testing center at least thirty minutes earlier and complete registration. Also, bring two forms of current identification to verify your identity. You should have a primary ID and a secondary ID, which carry your legal name, signature and photo.
The test is computer based, but that does not necessarily mean that you need certain computer skills to use the device.
Pay attention to the fact that the test is monitored by a proctor, who is to provide accountability, making sure students do not cheat or manipulate the test in any way.
After you successfully pass the state exam, you can apply for the insurance license. You should apply for all preferred lines of authority.
Use this online page to submit the application.
Note that you must wait at least 48 hours to apply after you pass the exam.
New Hampshire Insurance Department
21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14
Concord, NH 03301
From the date of receiving the insurance license, it will expire the 2nd birth-month on the last day of that month. Thus, you must renew the license every two years.
Note that you must complete to 24 hours of continuing education (CE) each renewal cycle, 60 days before the expiration.
Click here to renew the license.
To obtain a New Hampshire insurance license, you must pay these fixed fees:
Online Application Fee: $210
The fee for each exam
If you attend pre-license courses, that will also cost you some money. The average price is somewhere between $250 and $450.