Search and verify licenses
Sample New Hampshire Marriage License

New Hampshire Marriage License

Let’s outline some points you must keep in mind in order to get a valid marriage license which you can use statewide.

What do you need to get a marriage license in New Hampshire?

While applying for your license in the State of New Hampshire, first you need to visit to any City/Town Clerk’s office. It doesn’t matter where you’re getting married. Both parties must approve the documents at the time of application:

In addition to this, if it is not a first marriage for either, you must present your final or absolute divorce decree papers with the seal or death certificate.

Marriage can perform the following individuals:

  • A Justice of the Peace commissioned in the State of New Hampshire
  • A minister of the gospel in New Hampshire who resides in New Hampshire and is in regular standing with the denomination
  • Any unordain member of clergy who lives in New Hampshire after the Secretary of State licensed him/her
  • Judges of the United States, a US magistrate judge residing in this state who is pursuant to federal law
  • A non-resident Justices of the Peace after the Secretary of State licensed him/her
  • A minister within his parish, residing outside of New Hampshire, but having a pastoral charge wholly or partly in New Hampshire

Age Requirements

  • A male/female who has reached the age of 18 can marry without parental permission.
  • A male between the age of 14 and 17 years and a female between the age of 13 and 17 years can marry only when they have the consent of their parent or guardian.
  • A female below the age of 13 and a male below the age of 14 can not marry under any condition.

NOTE: Marriage is prohibited in New Hampshire between people who are related by blood as first cousins or in any more direct lineage.

Marriage Ceremonies

You do not need to perform marriage ceremonies, since New Hampshire requires no particular ceremony for a marriage. A Justice of the Peace is usually available on Monday till Friday from 8:15 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. The cost to certify the marriage license with no ceremony or vows is $40.

You can as well get a marriage license and a marriage certificate before you leave the Town Office building. The cost is $50 for the license and $15 for one copy of your marriage certificate. You may as well pay $40 for the Justice of the Peace with no ceremony or vows beforehand. It is advisable that you call ahead to insure the Justice of Peace will be available.

What is necessary for a marriage license in New Hampshire?

While applying for a license in New Hampshire, you should fill out the application form. You must give specific answers to the following on the intention of marriage application:

  • Name
    • First, middle, last
  • Surname at birth
  • New name after marriage
    • Last name
    • Middle name
  • State or foreign country of birth
  • Date of birth
  • Gender
  • Race an Ancestry
  • Education level
  • Phone number
  • Mailing address
  • Residential address (if required)
  • Social security number
  • Prior relationships
    • Total marriages and civil unions
    • Whether ended by death, divorce or dissolution
    • Last end date
  • Information about ceremony
    • Ceremony date
    • Ceremony city or town
    • Officiant’s name, title, and address

Note: If needed, you may even present your parents’ or guardians’ full names, birth certificates, States or foreign countries of birth. New Hampshire doesn’t require proof of residency for a couple who is going to marry in the state. If a couple wants to marry in New Hampshire, they have to fill out an application form which they can find at any New Hampshire town or city, no matter where their residence is located. Residents from out-of-state can marry in New Hampshire without any problems too. After they issue your license, the couple can marry in any town or city in New Hampshire.

When do you need a marriage license in New Hampshire?

If you manage to marry in New Hampshire, you first need to apply for a marriage license. Parties may apply Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Applicants must provide some identification requirements which include:

  1. Proof of age ( birth certificate, passport)
  2. Proof of residence (driver’s license)
  3. Certified copy of a death certificate if either party is widowed
  4. Certified copy of a final divorce decree if either applicant is divorced

If the above mentioned documents are not in English, then you must translate them into English and the translator must sign it. A notary must witness the translator’s signature. After you receive your license, you can start getting ready for your wedding.

Can I apply for a marriage license online in New Hampshire?

In case you want to apply from home, you should fill out the application form online. The license is valid for use for 90 days from the date of the application. After 90 days your marriage license will expire. Once it expires, you can no longer use it,  therefore you cannot marry.

Unfortunately, you will just have to get a brand new one as anyone will no longer recognize your expired license as valid neither by the state, nor by the person who will be responsible for officiating your marriage.

How long does it take for marriage license New Hampshire?

By good luck there is no waiting-period in New Hampshire before your license is issued to you. That means you can take your license after both of you file and sign the application. Moreover you may marry the same day you get your marriage license. Within six days after the marriage your officiant must return your marriage license to the issuing clerk .

How much is a marriage license in New Hampshire?

A New Hampshire marriage license costs $45.00-$50.00. This fee is non-refundable. Accepted forms of payment are cash. You can pay with cash, check, credit card or a money order. You may get a certified copy after the marriage ceremony has passed. The members of the military can waive the marriage license fee.

Certified copy of the marriage license

You can get a certified copy of your marriage license from the NH Department of State Division of Vital Records Administration or from the town Clerk’s office from where the license was issued.  The current fee of certified copy is $15. You will also need to show proof of identity. In this Case you need to return the license to the clerk’s office in order to receive the certified copy. The first copy is $15. If you would like more copies after the first copy, extras are $10 for each.

Where do you get a marriage license in New Hampshire?

You can get a marriage license at any county or city clerk’s office. Both parties must appear in person and fill out the application form. Only the members of the U.S. armed forces may send a proxy to apply on their behalf. If both of you are U.S. military workers then you may apply absentee. Applicants do not have to apply for a marriage license together. One of them should pick up the license, therefore pay for it.

For more information you may apply…

The Division of Vital Records
71 South Fruit St
Concord, NH 03301-2410
Phone:603-271-4650
Fax: 603-271-3447

Mari A

Mari is a creative and self-motivated person. She is new in content writing, which she thinks improves knowledge and creativity skills. Mari is keen on learning different languages and for her every day is a new chance to learn more. She is responsible to handle multiple tasks on a daily basis.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State