Search and verify licenses

New Hampshire Real Estate License

In the state of New Hampshire, you need to obtain a New Hampshire real estate license to enter the real estate industry.

This article provides you with information about the processes for taking an examination and becoming a licensed real estate agent.

How to get your real estate license in New Hampshire

Main qualifications

Before you start the licensing process, you must be at least 18 years old and US citizen. Another prerequisite is having graduated high school and holding a high school diploma (or its equivalent).

Complete pre-licensing courses

In the state of New Hampshire, applicants must complete 40 hours of pre-license education to be eligible for applying. 32 of these hours must be classroom-based.

When making a coursework choice, always refer to a stated approved one. Such courses maintain a high level of insurance studies, focusing on the important stuff.

Professional courses also include detailed content on the following topics:

  • Practice and principles of real estate
  • Law
  • Fair housing regulations
  • Real estate interests
  • Ownership
  • Land descriptions
  • Title transfers and records
  • Real estate contracts
  • Financing
  • Transactions
  • Leases

As you can guess, these classes are to encourage applicants to learn the basics of the real estate industry. Furthermore, they guarantee high passing rates and strong educational foundation.

Pass the New Hampshire real estate exam

The next step is taking and passing the state licensing exam. Before you take the exam, you must submit the New Hampshire Real Estate Exam Registration Form to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.

Once you receive notice to take the exam, you can register for it online. The fee is $155 per attempt.
You may also register by calling at 1-800-733-9267.

After registration, you must take the exam within three months.

In case you do not receive any notification from the Commission, you can contact them and check the status of your exam registration.

Apply for the real estate license

The time to submit the application has come and you can easily apply online. The fee is $90.

Contact Information

New Hampshire Real Estate Commission
7 Eagle Square
Concord, NH 03301-2412
Phone: (603) 271-0240

Is the real estate test hard in New Hampshire?

In reality, the New Hampshire real estate exam is hard to pass. Moreover, about 50% of applicants fail on their first time.

Nevertheless, you will be able to succeed if you devote some time to your studies and understand every detail of the test.

The real estate exam is computer based and proctored. You cannot have personal items with you in the examination room. Only a basic calculator is acceptable.

For the whole test you will have 240 minutes to finish.

You will know whether you passed or failed right after the exam. If you fail, you will have the opportunity to retake the test. For one calendar year, you are allowed to take the test for eight times. Not succeeding during those attempts, you will need to retake pre-license courses again.

The cost to get a real estate license in New Hampshire

Prior to becoming a licensed real estate agent in New Hampshire, you must pay these fixed fees.

In the first place, you will need to pay $600-$800 to complete required hours/credits of pre-license education.

Then, you must pay $155 for each examination attempt and $25 for background check.

Lastly, you must pay $90 for license application.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State